Fudge and Graveyards

One of my favorite things to do in an old city is visit graveyards. Creepy? Maybe, but it is just so amazing and surreal to look at a piece of stone detailing someone’s life from the 1700s. It really puts things in perspective. My mom and I walked through the graveyard of the Circular Church. It was founded in 1681 and monuments in the graveyard date back to 1695.

Image

Image

Image

There was also a large pile of broken stones in the back which I thought was really sad. I found out later that the ground shifts and the headstones break and crumble during hurricanes. The church is currently working on renovating the church and restoring the graveyard so hopefully these can be repaired too!

Image

Image

Also, what is a trip to Charleston without going to the shopping district on King Street and the City Market?!?

Image

Image

This fudge was amaaazing. Sadly, I was only able to eat like 4 bites before I started feeling sick from the copious amounts of sugar.

Image

My favorite night shot from the trip…I saw several beautiful views at night, but unfortunately, I’m still learning my way around my new camera and the shots came out weird. The next time I visit I plan to take take a lot of photos at night because the harbor and downtown areas were so pretty in the moonlight.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

